Forever a Clone

I'm just a clone, talking away while nobody listens

Off Topic Thoughts

Hello!  Me again!  Can you believe it’s December already?!  What the hell happened to this year?!  Where did it go?  Not that I’m complaining though because there has been a lot of negative stuff in the world that came about this year.  Actually, lots of good happened to me personally, but this year as a planet, we had a bad year.  My thoughts of some of it are to come on a future blog entry, but for this one I’d like to focus on my favorite time of the year.  Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day and the thoughts it brings.

There are quite a few times during the course of the week that I get comedically analytic about things that I wonder about.  I think I get it from my love of George Carlin (RIP!).  I always dissect things and ask the questions that people don’t normally even think about to which the guys always tell me something to the effect of “What the hell is wrong with you!?” as they laugh and or shake their head.

Well, one of those introspective thoughts came to me recently.  One of the reasons I love this time of year so much is because I LOVE to listen to Christmas music.  I’m a user of iHeartRadio and they have at least 4 different stations dedicated to nothing but Christmas music and that’s what I’ve been listening to on my way to and from work each weekday and there are a handful of classic songs out there that mention something to the effect of going back home for Christmas or wanting to go back home for the holidays and it brought up a thought.  In the words of the classic Ace song “How Long”, how long has this been going on?  I’ll admit that I’m not going to do any research on the matter and I’m just going to go off of common historical knowledge, or at least common to me, about the subject.  What I can best guess about it all is that people have always wanted to go to the bigger city to find a better and brighter future for themselves.  Fair enough, I suppose I can understand.  My question is if you hated your hometown so much, why the hell are you going back every Christmas or wishing you could if you didn’t?  Why did you leave in the first place?

I know I’m one of the freaks out there that actually loves my hometown and even though I have almost left this place on at least 4 different occasions, fate has left me here.  I’m not pissed about it at all.  The majority of my friends and family are here and I’m pretty centrally located to the places that I would like to go to do the things I love to do like camping (damn! I can’t WAIT for March/April to come about so that I can go out camping again!), visiting 2 of my favorite cities being Phoenix and Las Vegas, or heading east to see my friends who live in east and north Texas (that I really need to get my shit together and start doing).  I can get to those places by my preferred method, driving, pretty easily and none are too far from home where it’s really putting me out money or timewise.

Back to my thought, though.  Why did these people back in the day leave their home and go back for the holidays?  Why do people still do it now?  I know a lot of people that I grew up with that moved away and still live in the cities they moved to but occasional come back here to visit and that’s cool, but I don’t see ‘em writing posts on social media about missing home and whatnot.  I’m talking about the people that you read stories about on your favorite news website or see stories about on the national news broadcasts about airports being jam packed on the days before thanksgiving and around Christmas.  My other question to that is why does this circle keep happening?  Here’s what I mean.  Let’s say somebody in the Midwest somewhere grows up and wants to go to the big city somewhere to do something and goes out and does it, finds somebody, marries them, and has kids… Do those kids wish to move away from the big city and want a more simple life?  Do those kids of kids wonder why their parents live in the middle of nowhere and want to move to the big city?  It’s a big confusing circle, isn’t it?

These are just some of the stupid thoughts that keep my brain going.  I think I missed my calling as a stand-up comedian because I know there’s a bit in there somewhere just waiting to come out.  Ah, oh well.  As long as I can get a laugh or two out of the people who care to listen to some of these oddball thoughts I have, that’s all I really care about.  I’m here to make people smile and not take life so seriously.  I think that’s my true calling in life.  It’s my opinion that you gotta laugh about something at least 3 times a day.  If you aren’t, you’re doing it wrong man.

Have a great weekend, y’all!  I’ll be back sometime in the future with something as equally as odd to talk about!

Love and Peace!

David

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

