Forever a Clone

I'm just a clone, talking away while nobody listens

For the love of music

I started this blog 5 years ago today.  FIVE!!!  Can you believe it?!  A lot has happened in those 5 years.  Deaths, moves, stupid relationships that I SHOULD HAVE NEVER gotten myself into, divorces that friends had, babies that friends and family had, parties, drinking… more parties… more drinking, and just a little bit more partying and drinking.  Oh!  And jamming here and there with the band happened.  It’s been a fun ride.  I’ve gotten the chance to meet a bunch of new people from all over the world, created close friendships that will last longer than, well… a while, and I’ve also gotten the chance to really know myself.  One constant thing that hasn’t changed, however, is my love for music and specifically the love of playing my drum set.  I think I’m in love just as much or even more than I was when I wrote this love blog to my preferred brand of drums 5 years ago.  It was my first real blog, actually.  It’s what I was and still am in to.  Playing music.

Funny thing about playing music, though, is that I haven’t done much of it in the past year and a half or longer.  Life and near death has gotten in the way of the band.  Nothing sucks more than that, man.  Right now, my drums are sitting zipped up in their cases in a corner of my bedroom.  My beautiful red burst Tama Silverstar 5 piece maple shell set is nothing more than a side piece right now, a constant reminder of what was and what could have been.  I miss playing so much.  Don’t get me wrong though, I don’t want to play anything with anybody just for the sake of playing either.  I need to feel a part of something and I need to play the music that makes me feel alive.  Pretty much that means everything with the exception of that speed metal/death metal garbage.  I don’t care what anybody says, that “music” SUCKS and I’ll admit that I’m not fast enough to play blast beats and hit my snare with occasional tom fills for 4 minutes or so at a time, but I also find that trash very boring even if I could build up my stamina to do it (which I know I could if I just sat at my drumset for a while nonstop every day for a week or two) I still would refuse to join a band that played that garbage.  Anyway, my very strong dislike for that crap aside, it’s very unlikely that I’d be able to get a group together that would play everything from George Strait and Alan Jackson, to Michael Jackson, Chicago, Earth Wind & Fire, The Gap Band, and Bruno Mars, to Mötley Crüe, Poison, Bon Jovi, Ratt, Guns n’ Roses, Van Halen, Chickenfoot, and of course I can’t leave Pantera, Metallica, Steel Panther, and Hellyeah behind either.  Who would want to do that, right?!  Those are just some of the things I’d like to cover off the bat.  Anyway, it won’t happen.  But it would be nice if it did though!  Instead, my drums will stay where they are, in my bedroom until we (Searchlight Needles) get off our asses and decide to play again.

Getting back to that, looking back I really miss everything about being in the active band scene.  I miss the practicing, the gigging, and most of all the recording.  Granted, we’ve only recorded one album 5 years ago (that you can still buy on iTunes, Google Play, and Amazon or stream each track on YouTube too!  We’re a topic on there!), that was still an experience that I am craving to have again.  I think if I had the money for it, I would probably be constantly recording.  It’s so much fun to create music, record it, and have it there as a permanent memory.  AND you can share your creation with the world if they want!  It’s a beautiful thing with this technology in this day and age.  It also sucks at the same time because with the exception of a lucky few artists, there is no more money left in music.  I should make myself clear that I don’t play music for money because I’ve never made a dime from playing with my current band and I have been very happy about being able to play and create with my best friends, but in the crazy chance that some record exec were to hear it, there’s no way that a indie band like ours would make it in today’s music business culture.  Sure there have been very famous bands that have come out of here, most notably At The Drive In and the band that came out of that breakup, Mars Volta, but out of the countless other bands only another hipster/weird/who knows what band named The Royalty have gotten signed, but their contract got terminated after a year and that band pretty much broke up after that.

So, I say all that to say that I miss creating music.  I miss playing the songs I like playing right now and I’m dying to play the songs that I really love to put my little percussive spin on them, then to create my own music from all of my musical influences after that.  I want to do it for the love of the art and not for the cash or the bar tab I’d get for doing it.  I hope it happens sooner than later!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

