Forever a Clone

I'm just a clone, talking away while nobody listens

Attraction

Today is the eve of All Saints Day and I’m still buzzing a bit over another great weekend.  So many things to write about, but as I had alluded to before on Snapchat I had a great conversation on Friday night with one of my best friends.

It all started when I got into the conversation with them at one of our hangouts of who I thought was attractive and why friends of ours find the people they thought were attractive.  Apparently my brain really enjoyed the topic and it started to fire on all cylinders.  As the most common definition of attraction goes, it is “a quality or feature of something or someone that evokes interest, liking, or desire.”  Everybody zeroes in on one thing or another.  I happen to differ from the norm in this respect as well because the physical attributes of women are usually the last thing I even think about whenever I find myself attracted to one.  The features I find attractive are heart and intelligence.  I couldn’t care less about any of the typical physical features that most men drool over.  I need somebody that’s going to make my brain fire up its thought processes and be as passionate about the things I am.  I’ve also heard it said before and I’m a believer that one’s attitude and temperament plays a part in the overall attractiveness of a person.  I know of many physically attractive people who are just horrible on the inside and now I can’t even see the physical beauty of them.  Strange how that is, but it’s true.

Back to my desires though, I can honestly say that I don’t think that I’ve ever really dated a woman in my 20’s and beyond that had one or both the attributes that I like.  I thought they did at first of course, but in the end it was a ruse on their part.  Looking back, I can honestly say that I’ve never had one of those thought provoking conversations as I had on Friday night speaking about all things science, opinion, observation, music, and movies, aka everything with any ex girlfriend.  I think back and I’m wondering now about just how exactly I did communicate with these former significant others.  I can’t even tell you what it was we did talk about.  Ha!  How bad is that!?  That brings me to myself, I suppose.  What would I have talked about back then to them?  I’m sure it was music and sports.  Those were my main passions as they still sort of are, but my overall priorities have changed.  The world has changed as well in a way that I don’t feel like I have to hide a side of me that used to be a bit more ridiculed in the past.  I talked about it a few blogs ago, but it’s being a nerd.  I have always considered myself one, but I just never have really outwardly displayed it.  I’ve always been that idiot who wears bands, sports, or just outlandish and stupid t-shirts, but I’ve always thought of myself as being well versed in the book smarts on a handful of subjects that I find interest in.

Intelligence aside, I’m also big about having a big heart.  There are too many people out in the world today that aren’t passionate about who they are, what they do, or what they are interested in.  I find too many people these days that just don’t care.  They are just living for the next night out, the next paycheck, or the next item that will give them the attention they crave.  I find myself gravitating to two of Fight Club’s Tyler Durden’s quotes when he said, “You’re not your job. You’re not how much money you have in the bank. You’re not the car you drive. You’re not the contents of your wallet. …” and “The things you own end up owning you.”  In other words, earthly possessions don’t impress me either and actually the desire for possessions of wealth are a turn off for me.  As Jesus says in Matthew Chapter 6, verses 19 through 24, “19 Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal; 21 for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. 22 “The eye is the lamp of the body; so then if your eye is clear, your whole body will be full of light. 23 But if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light that is in you is darkness, how great is the darkness!  24 “No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and wealth.”

YOU CANNOT SERVE GOD AND WEALTH.

Take a minute to take that in.  Potential romantic relationships speaking, I don’t want to get involved with a woman who’s main concern is wealth.  Sure, in our world we have to have at least something, but in my eyes what I have, thanks to God, is all I need.  Sadly, in this day and age the mutual thought from the opposite sex is nearly nonexistent.  Wealth, flashy clothes, expensive cars, and a big house; all of those things don’t make my heart happy.  I’m passionate about the real things that matter.  Some of those things, for example, are the love I have for God, the love for family and friends, the love for the arts (music, movies, etc), and the love for knowledge.

It was great to have that conversation that I did with my dear and close friend on Friday night.  It woke me up and made me remember just what it is that I’m looking for in friends and potential relationships.  I must remind myself to not settle for anything less.  I want people that are going to wake up my passions and people who have their heart set on greater things than what is in this world.  I want to always feel that buzz like I did on Friday night.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

