Forever a Clone

I'm just a clone, talking away while nobody listens

Happy Daze!

It’s finally here!  My favorite time of the year!  October to March.  These are the months where the days go dark by 5pm and a chill is in the air.  Sometimes, 2 to maybe 5 times during this 6 month stretch it even snows here in the desert and holy smokes what peace that brings me.  Well, peace if it only lightly snows and I don’t have to drive because as the G.I.A.N.T.  Stone Cold Steve Austin can attest, we have the worst drivers in the nation and the idiots here get even worse when there is rain or snow on the streets.  It doesn’t help things that there are a lot of hills and valleys roadwise here so ice makes things extra fun, but anyway I’ll leave my rants for another blog.  This one is all about how excited I am about fall and winter.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love summer and all the fun it brings, but each passing year I’m finding myself more and more excited when the seasons start to transition into fall.  I love almost everything about it.  I say almost because I’m one of those rare people that has a real dislike for Halloween and everything about it.  I think a lot about my displeasure is religiously based, as Halloween came to be in modern times at least as some weird ritual to get dressed up and party, but since the mid 1700’s it’s been a time for Christians to prepare for All Saints Day and All Souls Day being November 1 and November 2 respectively and that’s what I prefer to focus on.  Anyway, the bastardization of it (if you will) gets under my skin.  Same goes for The Feast of Saint Valentine’s Day and The Feast of Saint Patrick’s Day, so I try to really keep a low profile during those days.  Anyway, October 31st aside, it’s all a big party for me.  I think I look forward to these days the most.  Well, maybe having a Vegas trip lined up or a camping trip lined up are on equal footing, but those days are different in their own right.

Back to fall, I really love how everything slows down and the holidays come about where generally families get together.  Oddly enough, out of the 3 holidays in November and December, I rank Thanksgiving 1st, New Year’s Eve 2nd, and Christmas 3rd.  You’d think Christmas would be it for me, and honestly, celebrating Jesus’ birthday is pretty awesome, but when it comes to everything outside of Masses, etc. like gatherings and whatnot, I have found that spending those times alone or with a select group of people has brought me the best memories when I look back on them.  I think it’s because I have had my routines for each day down for the past 5 or so years and being a creature of habit as I am, I look forward more and more to what those days mean to me.  Those are the days that I can just sit back and truly be reflective of the year that has passed by.  Thanksgiving, particularly for me, brings out some extra fun feelings because my day starts out getting my meal for that afternoon ready as the parade in New York City is happening.  Of course Santa Claus ends the parade and that signals the earnest beginning of the Christmas season.  I love that.  I like hearing Christmas music and seeing things decorated, but oddly enough I don’t decorate my own things.  Is that weird?  After the parade, of course, comes the football games and getting food drunk which is always a plus.  Everything about Thanksgiving is just awesome.  Like I said, I’ve been spending them alone lately, but you know what?  I actually prefer that.  I do my own thing.  I relax in my own way.  There’s no façade for me to put up, you know?

New Year’s Eve comes about the same way for me.  I work during the day and get home to take a nap so that I can stay up for the festivities.  Now, festivities for me generally aren’t the type of festivities one would think of when it comes to New Year’s Eve celebrations.  Mine, as my life generally, are really low key.  Funny thing too, is that I’ve been to New Year’s Eve parties before and been in the crazy places, but I have never had as much of a good time doing those things than what I have been doing the past 10 years or so.  You can usually find me on the various social media websites (Facebook, Twitter, and Snapchat) commenting on the world’s celebrations and/or sharing the views from my own little part of the world (which is pretty much watching the ABC, NBC, and CNN shows) while I have my usual foods and drinks.  Pizza, wings, beer, sparkling grape juice, AND for the finale champagne are on my menu.

All of it is just so much fun for me.  There’s no other time like it in the year.  The only other day that comes close to matching those two days is the 4th of July.  Same principals apply for me on that day.  It’s a nice way to get me ready for what’s to come half a year later.  So, bring on fall!  Bring on November and December.  Bring on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s.  I can’t wait!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

